dijon almond crusted tilapia.

I’ve been trying to really get on a kick of cooking healthier meals in lieu of easy pasta recipes and spur of the moment grilled cheese. Though who doesn’t love spur of the moment grilled cheese? This girl sure does.

I find that I make poor kitchen decisions when I’ve planned inadequately or gotten a phone call on my drive home asking “What’re we having for dinner?” when all I’d been thinking all day is 8-5. Last week that resulted in me coming up with a quickie venison dish knowing that I could easily thaw out some ground venison we had in the freezer. I wasn’t 100% pleased with how that turned out (though the guys sure seemed to love it), so I decided Sunday afternoon should be spent planning ahead a little.

In college I had a few specialties. I made grilled chicken with grilled bell peppers and onions — and oftentimes turned that into a fajita. I also grilled tilapia with dijon and almonds. Pretty random, but I loved it. (One day we’ll get into the zucchini crust pizza I was fond of making as well.)

I planned Monday’s dinner based on some tilapia filets I had (and also my love of all things mustard-related).

Here’s how I cooked it:

Ingredients:

1/4 cup whole natural almonds
2 tablespoons dry breadcrumbs (leftover from a tomato pie I made recently)
1 teaspoon of some kind of seasoning blend I found in the cabinet
freshly ground black pepper
1 tablespoon canola oil
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2 tilapia fillets

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees and grease sheet of aluminum foil in preparation.
2. Place ingredients in a food processor; process until finely ground. This is important as I first tried to just stir them and press everything together but it wasn’t really working and the almonds were, of course, too big.
3. Place tilapia on aluminum foil and cover with mixture.
2. Cook until fish is white. For me, it took 18 minutes. I was surprised it took that long but I monitored it the entire time.

On the side, I served spinach lettuce, sliced strawberries, and almonds. They went really well together.

tilapia

One thought on “dijon almond crusted tilapia.

Leave a Reply

