toast to twenty thirteen.

Twenty 13 has been wonderful and exciting and fun and ridiculous and I’ve loved [almost] every second of it.

This past year I settled on one New Year’s Resolution: “go on a date.” And I got so much more. (But not from that date.)

I finally saw Widespread Panic live – in Columbia and Raleigh (twice) – and loved every second of it, even in the pouring rain. I saw Carrie Underwood, Hunter Hayes, 98 Degrees, Boyz 2 Men, New Kids on the BlockBand of Horses (again), Robert Rudolf & the Family Band, and Mumford & Sons (again) too.

I found myself in the mountains once again in South Carolina, North Carolina, and even in a tent in Tennessee.

I went rafting, and canoeing, and fishing. And I even caught one that was a keeper.

I finally fought my fear of the kitchen off and have started learning how to cook meals for two instead of one and experiment with recipes rather than be scared of them. I baked my first layer cake, too - a feat, if you ask me.

I ran my third half marathon – this time in Savannah – and signed up for #4 for twenty 14.

I spent a lot of time with my friends, and for that I am forever grateful. From football games to beach weekends to Friday and Saturday nights “in” with them and to Friendsgiving.

I found out I’m going to be an AUNT! And the excitement is more than I can even hope to capture in the mere confines of the internet.

I got a new job. No longer am I working to promote the needs and sustainability of agriculture in South Carolina; now I am working on fundraising for cancer centers, an area in which I feel greatly fulfilled and called to focus on.

And I started painting again, which has made me beyond happy. My greatest discovery of the year, and I could be quoted for professing my excitement over this, is the ability to purchase “sample” paints from Lowe’s. Lowe’s, I love you. And nail guns and polyurethane. All mediums of my choice these days.

I’m excited about all twenty 14 has to offer me in love, in creativity, in friendship, in family, in swift running feet, and in life.

Do the best you can until you know better. Then when you know better, do better. - Maya Angelou
One thought on “toast to twenty thirteen.

Leave a Reply

